Will Carlo Make the Playoffs?

The Bruins just faced off against the Florida Panthers, winning 2-1 in overtime. Torey Krug led the defense to a triumphant victory, but what happened in the second period is something we all wish we could forget.

In the middle of the game last night, Brandon Carlo suffered a nasty elbow from Evgenii Dadonov. Though the contact was accidental, Carlo was slow to get up. The trainer had to help the defenseman off the ice after the play.

Originally, the refs called a five minute major – which would have been the correct ruling – but changed it to a minor penalty. Regardless of intent, the rule is that an elbow to the head is a major penalty. The refs had no logical reason to change their ruling.

Carlo’s last concussion came at the end of the 2016 season on an interference from Alex Ovechkin. That hit took him out for the rest of the season.

As of now, there is no more information regarding the fate of the 23 year old from Colorado Springs.  We can only hope that he will return to the action soon.

Claire Mountcastle

Sophomore Public Relations Major and Film and Journalism minor at Anderson University.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s